Director, Electronics and Radar Development Establishment (LRDE)
Shri P Radhakrishna
Director, Electronics and Radar Development Establishment (LRDE)

Shri. P Radhakrishna, Outstanding Scientist has assumed the charge of Director, Electronics & Radar Development Establishment (LRDE), DRDO, Bangalore w.e.f. 01 April 2020.

He received his B.E in Electronics & Communications Engineering from Andhra University and obtained his M. Tech. in E&ECE (Computer Engineering) from IIT, Kharagpur. He joined LRDE in 1988 as Scientist ’B’. He started his career in the field of Radar Signal Processing and over a period of time he has graduated himself into Radar Systems.

He played a major role and made significant contributions in the design and development of Signal Processor for Rajendra Radar. As Team Leader, he has been the driving force in establishing a family of 3-D Medium Range Surveillance Radars with fully DSP based Parallel and Programmable Signal Processor and Digital Receiver Technologies.

He functioned as Group Head of Radar Signal Processing Group providing signal processing solutions for various radar systems. He played a nodal role in the Radar Signal Processing, Processor Technologies and Radar Systems Engineering activities in the organization.

He contributed for various Radar Development Projects including Rajendra Multifunction Phased Array Radar of AKASH Weapon System, Weapon Locating Radar, a family of 3-D Surveillance Radars namely 3-D Central Acquisition Radar for AKASH Weapon System, Rohini for Indian Air Force, Revathi for Indian Navy, 3-D Tactical Control Radar for Indian Army, all of them have been productionised and deployed.

He headed the Airborne Radars Division responsible for development of Primary Radar for AEW&C, Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR) for UAV and Active Electronically Scanned Array (AESA) Radar for LCA.

He has been Associate Director (Systems) with additional charge as Associate Director (HR) prior to assuming charge as Director, LRDE. He is recipient of various Awards including IETE-IRSI Award and DRDO Scientist of the Year Award. His areas of interest include Radar Signal Processing & Processor Architectures, Radar Systems Engineering, Active Phased Array Technologies, Multistatic Radar Technologies and Very Long Range Radar Technologies.

Back to Top