Director Centre for Fire, Explosive and Environment Safety (CFEES)
Shri Rajiv Narang

Shri Rajiv Narang, Scientist ‘H’ and Outstanding Scientist obtained his Bachelor of Engineering Degree in Chemical Engineering from Department of Chemical Engineering & Technology, Panjab University, Chandigarh in 1985 and received Arun Modi Gold Medal, University Medal. He completed M Tech in Process Engineering and Design in 1994 from IIT Delhi.

He joined DRDO on 12 September 1986 as Scientist ‘B’ at High Energy Materials Laboratory, Pune in 1986. During his 13 years stint at HEMRL, he contributed immensely towards Development of High Explosive filling for Advance Demolition Devices, Anti-Tank Nag Missile, Prithvi Missile Warheads, Charge Line Mine Clearing System for Vehicles, Advanced Limpet Mine, Heavy Destruction Charges and Charge Linear Cutting. He joined CFEES in 1999; and has been involved in various Projects and STEC Regulatory and Advisory activities. Some of his notable achievements are Design and Development of New Generation Explosive Storage buildings like Igloos, URP, HPM and Underground facility; Design validation and safety parameters for storage of specialized ammunition like Akash and BrahMos missiles, SMERCH and PINAKA rockets; Disposal of Unserviceable Ammunition by Low Order Detonation; Hazard Classification test called super large scale Gap Test for Hazard Classification of large size rocket motors and Multitier stack test for gun propellants; TNT equivalent of Rocket Motors of LRSAM and AKASH missiles; Safety clearances for new explosive storage buildings/ facilities in MoD Establishments; Formulation, amendment and implementation of explosive safety regulations for all MoD establishments storing, handling, processing or transport of explosives; and Formulation of Master Ammunition storage plan for Ammunition Depots of the Services. He is the author of 10 Research Papers and 34 Technical Reports and has one patent on his credit.

He is recipient of many awards in recognition of his contributions viz. State Centre Medal by Institution of Engineers 1988, DRDO Technology Award 1996 and 1998, Technology Group Award 2008 & 2014.

He is Life Member of High Energy Materials Society of India (HEMSI), Associate Member of Institute of Engineers (India) and Associate Member of Indian Institute of Chemical Engineers.

Back to Top