Vol. 6 No. 2 April 1998

ISSN: 0971-4413

Bulletin of Defence Research & Development Organisation

1. Editorial Committee

2.Editorial Staff


Editorial Committee

Dr S S Murthy, Director, DESIDOC Metcalfe House, Delhi.

Bio Data of Dr. SS Murthy

Dr SS Murthy, after obtaining his M.Sc.(Applied Statistics) completed Associateship in Information Science from INSDOC (CSIR) and Ph.D from Gulbarga University, Gulbarga. In 1979, he joined DRDO at Defence Scientific Information & Documentation Centre (DESIDOC) as Director. Dr Murthy has served or is serving on the advisory committees of various Govt. Organisations in India. He is a member of the Review Committee for INFLIBNET of UGC and NASSDOC of ICSSR. Dr Murthy as Director of DESIDOC has the responsibility to coordinate the information activities of DRDO.

Names and Biodatas of the Members of the Editorial Committee:

Dr. KVL Rao
Project Director (Propulsion System) Aeronautical Development Agency, Bangalore.

Dr. KVL Rao is the Project Director for Propulsion Systems at Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA), Bangalore, which is the nodal Agency for the Design and Development of Indian Light Combat Aircraft. Dr. Rao obtained his Masters Degree in Mechanical Engineering from Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore and Ph.D. from Cranfield Institute of Technology, England.

Dr. Rao has worked at National Aerospace Laboratories, Bangalore and Purdue University, USA before he joined ADA as Group Director, Advanced Projects and Technologies. Dr. Rao is the recipient of Sir Roy Fedden Prize of Cranfield Institute of Technology, UK, ASME - Gas turbine Award of USA and DRDO Technology Award.

Sh. Vishal Chandra
Director of Biomedical & Applied Sciences, West Block, R.K. Puram, N. Delhi.
Shri Vishal Chandra, an M.Sc. in Organic Chemistry from Lucknow University, joined DRDO as a Research Fellow in 1963 and was appointed Senior Scientific Officer (gde II) in 1965 at the Institute of Nuclear Medicine and Allied Sciences, Delhi. Since 1973, he has been working in the R&D management stream looking after the biomedical group of laboratories and related areas. He has worked in the field of cold stress and acclimatisation and inorganic and protein-bound iodine in the thyroid disorders. He has successfully contributed to the rationalisation of five Radio Isotope Centres of the Armed Forces.

BR Grover
Director of Combat Vehicles, Sena Bhavan, New Delhi.
BR GROVER Shri BR Grover, a post-graduate in Mechanical Engineering with specialisation in Combat Vehicles, joined DRDO at the Institute of Armament Technology, Pune, in 1969. He has specialised in the research, design and development of tracked and wheeled combat vehicles. He has made significant contributions towards self-reliance in these defence equipment. Since 1987, he has been working on the programme management of India's first state-of-the-art Main Battle Tank ARJUN developed for the Army. At present he is Director of Combat Vehicles at DRDO HQRs where he is responsible for planning, monitoring and implementation of DRDO activities in the area of vehicles.

Dr. VK Kapoor
Addl Director Dte of Armaments, Sena Bhavan, New Delhi.
VK KAPOORDR VK Kapoor, a Ph.D. in Mathematics (Integral Transforms), from Banaras Hindu University joined DRDO in Aug 1969 and was posted to the College of Military Engineering, Pune. He joined Dte of Armaments, DRDO HQrs in 1985 where at present he is Addl Director of Armaments. He was awARDEd DRDO cash award in 1984 for his contributions to the Systems Analysis Studies of Strategic importance. Besides progressing several armament projects of national importance, he has been actively engaged in promoting DRDO technologies.

Dr. MS Vijayaraghavan
SO/SA to RM, South Block, New Delhi.

MS VIJAYARAGHAVAN Dr MS Vijayaraghavan obtained his Masters in Materials Science and Ph.D in Physics from I. I.T, Madras. He has been instrumental in creating a thin film hybrid MIC facility ab initio while serving at the Defence Electronics Research Laboratory, Hyderabad, since 1979. Presently posted at the Secretariat of Scientific Advisor to Defence Minister, he has been personally pushing the programme to develop an aerostat based sensor for Defence applications.



  Editorial Staff

Mohinder Singh, Ashok Kumar, D S Bedi

Editorial Assistance
Manoj K Pant

S B Gupta, SK Tyagi