RCI, Hyderabad

Dr Vijay Kumar Saraswat, Director, Research Centre Imarat (RCI), Hyderabad, and Programme Director, AD has been promoted to the rank of Distinguished Scientist w.e.f. 19 August 2004. Born in 1949, he obtained his ME from Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore and PhD from Osmania University. He joined as SSO at Defence Research & Development Laboratory (DRDL), Hyderabad in1972. He was involved in the development of Liquid Rocket Engines for various missile applications.

 As Project Director, Dr Saraswat, was instrumental in the design, development, production and induction of India's first indigenous surface-to-surface missile Prithvi into the Armed Forces. The development of Dhanush missile from a moving platform has started a new era of ship launched missiles. At present, he is involved in development of complex anti-ballistic missile systems, viz., interceptor missiles, radars, high speed communication and battle management technologies for combating threat of ballistic missiles.

Dr Saraswat is a recipient of DRDO's Scientist of the Year Award-1987; National Aeronautical Prize-1993; DRDO Performance Excellence Award-1999; DRDO's Technology Transfer Award-1996. He has been the Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering (1994); Aeronautical Society of India (2001); Institution of Engineers (India ) (2002) and Life Member of Aeronautical Society of India. In 1998, Dr Saraswat was awARDEd Padam Shree in recognition of his contributions in the field of science and engineering in Defence. Dr Saraswat is the Chairman of AeSI (Hyderabad Chapter) and Combustion Institute (Indian Section). Dr Saraswat was promoted as Outstanding Scientist in July 2000.

Shri SK Ray, Associate Director, RCI, Hyderabad, has been promoted to the rank of Scientist H w.e.f. 19 August 2004. He obtained his BE and ME in Electronics from Jadavpur University, Calcutta in 1971 and 1973, respectively. He joined DRDO in 1974. His major contributions are towards the design and development of missile control and guidance for the last 30 years. He has developed the Autopilot Systems for Agni, Trishul and Akash missiles. He is a recipient of the Best Scientist Award-1997, Agni Excellence Award-1999, and Vishwabharathy Foundation Award-2000.