Shri DVB Swamy, Sci F, has assumed the charge of the office of the Principal, Naval College of Engineering, INS Shivaji, Lonavla w.e.f. 1 March 2005. He took over the charge from Dr VP Singh, Sci G, who superannuated after serving the college as Principal for over twenty-two years.




RCI, Hyderabad

Shri TS Balasubramanian, has been promoted to Sci G w.e.f. 1 July 2005. He obtained his BE in 1972 and MTech from IIT, Madras in 1974. He joined DRDL, Hyderabad in 1974, and was instrumental in installing and commissioning of electron beam welding machine in addition to creation of new infrastructure facilities. As Head (Processing, Planning & Control) at DRDL, he has contributed for the indigenous development of missile sub-systems.

He joined Combat Vehicles Research and Development Establishment (CVRDE), Avadi, in 1982 and was incharge of fabrication shop and took active part in the successful rolling out of first MBT Arjun prototype in 1983 and was awARDEd for the same. He was nominated as Project leader to undertake Combat Improved Ajeya with a time bound program of 18 months. The above project was completed and accepted by users for induction into the service. Under his leadership, the Technology Transfer of C.I. Ajeya is being implemented at HVF, Avadi, smoothly for both OE and OH tanks.

Presently, he is leading a group of scientists for conceptualising the development of experimental tank configuring Ajeya chassis with MBT Arjun Weapon System which is under field trial. He is a member of various Professional Societies viz. IIW, SAE and FPSI.

Shri S Satyamurthy joined DRDO in 1971 at CVRDE and continued till October 1973. Later he joined Overseas Communication Services, Vikram Salellite Earth Station, Arvi where he gained the experience in operation and maintenance of Earth Station Communication Equipment. While serving there, he obtained his AMIE (I) in Electronics and Tele Communication Engineering and in November 1977 he rejoined DRDO at CVRDE as Sci B contributing to communication system engineering projects of all AFVs. He was instrumental for establishing a state-of-the-art large EMI-EMC test facility for tracked vehicles at CVRDE with excellent shielding effectiveness. He obtained his ME from Anna University in 1989.

As project Director for one of the core technology projects of CVRDE, he led a team of scientists and successfully completed the technology demonstration of vehicle electronics data acquisition system, a value addition product for MBT Arjun in the form of VHF telemetry based built-in diagnostic test instrumentation for automotive and weapon system.

He has more than fifty technical papers to his credit. He has been conferred with the 2nd N V Gadhadar Memorial Gold Medal-2002 at IETE in recognition of his contribution to Electronics and Telecommunication Services. He is a life member of Society of EMC Engineers (India) and a member of IEEE Chennai chapter.


Shri M R Bhutiyani, Sci F, earlier Scientist at Snow and Avalanche Study Establishment (SASE), Manali, and at present Head, Department of Geology, Faculty of Civil Engineering, College of Military Engineering, Pune, has been awARDEd PhD in Environmental Science for his thesis on Detection of Hydrological and Climatic Trends in the Northwestern Himalaya: Implications for Climate Change by Pune University.

Smt Sujata Dash, Sci D, Defence Terrain Research Laboratory (DTRL), Delhi, has been awARDEd PhD on topic entitled, Numerical Modeling of Coastal Circulation Along the Orissa Coast by Indian Institute Technology (IIT), Delhi on 13 August 2005.

Smt Varsha S Bhingarkar, Sci B, High Energy Materials Research Laboratory (HEMRL), Pune, has been award PhD in Chemistry for her thesis entitled, A Study of Binders in Pyrotechnic Compositions for Solid Rocket Propellant Igniters from Pune University on 16 September 2005.


Dr R Gopalan, Sci F, Defence Metallurgical Research Laboratory (DMRL), Hyderabad, has been selected for giving study support to the Survey of Science and Research in Asia-Pacific region by UNESCO and the Australian Expert Group in Industry Studies (AEGIS) at University of Western Sydney (UWS).