President, Dr APJ Abdul Kalam conferring the award on Dr Banerjee

Dr Dipankar Banerjee Conferred Padma Shree

Dr Dipankar Banerjee, Distinguished Scientist and CC R&D (Aeronautics & Material Sciences) has been conferred with Padma Shree by President Dr APJ Abdul Kalam on 28 March 2005, in recognition of his outstanding contributions in Science and Technology.

Born in 1952, Dr Banerjee obtained his BTech from IIT, Madras in 1974 and PhD from IISc, Bangalore in 1979, both in Metallurgy. He joined DRDO at Defence Metallurgical Research Laboratory (DMRL), Hyderabad in 1979 and was appointed Director in 1996. He was promoted to the rank of Distinguished
Scientist in 2004.

Dr Banerjee has had a meritorious career at DMRL and has worked in various capacities. His research interests at the laboratory were in the area of electron microscopy and the development of titanium based intermetallics for aero-engine applications and he has managed several successful programmes for the development of cast super alloy components for gas turbines based on investment casting technology. As CCR&D (AMS), he currently oversees the activities of Aeronautics and Material Laboratories of DRDO, as well the Grants-in-aid programmes.

He is recipient of National Metallurgist Award-1987, DRDO Scientist of the Year Award-1987, Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar Award-1993 and Materials & Superconductivity Prize-2001. Dr Banerjee is a Fellow, Indian Academy of Science-1992, Indian National Science Academy-1994, National Academy of Sciences-2001, and Andhra Pradesh Academy of Science-2002. He has been on the editorial board of the Transactions of the Indian Institute of Metals & Intermetallics; Elsevier Applied Sciences; Bulletin of Materials Science; and the Executive, Editorial Board , Defence Science Journal.

He has two Patents and more than 100 publications to his credit.


A team comprising Shri S C Bhattacharyya, Sci E; Shri AK Mandal, Sci C; and Ms S Basu, Sci B, High Energy Materials Research Laboratory (HEMRL), Pune, has been awARDEd NOCIL Award for Excellence in Design or Development of Process Plant and Equipment-2004 by Indian Institute of Chemical Engineers (IIChE) at the 57th Indian Chemical Engineering Congress at Mumbai.

AZRA Fellow Award

Shri SC Das, Director, Defence Agricultural Research Laboratory (DARL), Pithoragarh, has been conferred with AZRA Fellow Award by the Applied Zoologist Research Association, CRRI, Cuttak during the 7th AZRA Conference held at Orrisa University of Agriculture & Technology on 14-16 February 2005.