« Back


The following DRDO Awards were presented by Dr VK Aatre, SA to RM and DGR&D, during the 26th DRDO Directors Conference-2002 on 23 February 2002.

DRDO Young Scientist Award-2001

Geetha MaddalaMs Geetha Maddala, Sci C, High Energy Materials Research Laboratory (HEMRL), Pune, received the award in recognition of her significant contributions and for achieving major technological breakthrough in synthesis of CL-20, an extremely powerful explosive at laboratory level, through a novel route.


Shri Ramaraj Bhat
, Sci C, Gas Turbine Research Establishment (GTRE), Bangalore, has contributed towards development of Kaveri engine digital mock up for integration with LCA, and manufacturing technology for controlling dimensional instability in aero-engine components made of inconel  718 nickel base super-alloy.

Best Performance Award- 2001

Tripty Rani BoseSmt Tripty Rani Bose, Technical Assistant B, Centre for Military Airworthiness and Certification (CEMILAC), Bangalore, has been awARDEd for devising programme for creation and maintenance of data base of all defects, incidents and accidents of all aircrafts which has made data retrieval very easy for carrying out trend analysis.


Narinder Kumar ThakurShri Narinder Kumar Thakur, Technical Officer B, Snow & Avalanche Study Establishment (SASE), Chandigarh, has been awARDEd for his contribution in preparation of avalanche atlases for border areas of Jammu and Kashmir including Drass-Kargil-Batalik Sector.

Shri Pawan Kumar Jain
, Technician C, Defence Research & Development Establishment (DRDE), Gwalior, has been awARDEd for his contribution in design, development, production and installation of bio-digesters being utilised for human waste disposal in snow bound areas.

Shri RN Trivedi Medal

Dr Narendra KumarDr Narendra Kumar, Director, Defence Agricultural Research Laboratory, (DARL), Pithoragarh, has been conferred with Shri RN Trivedi Medal by Dr Sahib Singh Verma, Ex-Chief Minister, Delhi, for his outstanding contribution for the hill agriculture at the function organised at CCS University, Meerut, on 16 February 2002.


Andhra Pradesh Scientist Award-2002

Dr T Mohandas, Sci F, Defence Metallurgical Research Laboratory (DMRL), Hyderabad, has been awARDEd Andhra Pradesh Scientist Award-2002 by Andhra Pradesh State Council of Science and Technology (APCOST), for his significant contributions for developing the procedures for joining  the advanced materials of ultra high strength steels.

National Aeronautical Prize

Dr S Ramaseshan, Sci F, Regional Centre for Military Airworthiness (Aircraft) (CEMILAC), Bangalore, was awARDEd National Aeronautical Prize-2001 by the Aeronautical Society of India for the contributions to fly-by-wire control laws of LCA. The award was presented by Shri Habib Mohammed, Governor of Goa, during the 53rd Annual General Meeting held at Goa on 18 January 2002.