28th DRDO Directors' Conference was organised at Metcalfe House, Delhi, during 12-14 February 2004. Secretaries from Ministry of Defence, Vice Chiefs of the three Services, senior officials from Service HQrs, Chief Controllers, Laboratory Directors, Corporate and Technical Directors and the senior officials of DRDO were among the dignitaries who graced the occasion.
Directorsí Conference is a major annual event in DRDO in which the progress made on several projects in the last one year is reviewed and agenda is set for activities to be pursued in the succeeding year. The conference was spread over different sessions viz., DRDO in an Era of Globalisation, Planning Research and Development in DRDO, Corporate Management, Task Force Reports, Information and Electronic Warfare, and Technology for Low Intensity Conflicts. During the conference two important lectures were also organised, one was delivered by Dr RA Mashelkar, DG, CSIR on Twenty-first Century as India's Century: Converting a Dream to Reality; and the other was by Prof Bharat Karnad, Research Professor in National Security Studies, Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi on The Emerging World Order and India's National Security Imperatives.

DRDO is engaged in the persuit of self-reliance in critical technologies needed for the national security. With a view to encourage the DRDO community in achieving these goals and to create an atmosphere of enthusiastic competitiveness, the Government of India has introduced DRDO Young Scientist and Best Performance Awards Scheme. Dr VK Aatre, Scientific Adviser to Raksha Mantri conferred these Awards during the DRDO Directorsí Conference .

The Young Scientist Awards were conferred to the following DRDO Scientists:

Shri R Balasubramanian, Sci C, Defence Research & Development Laboratory (DRDL), Hyderabad, has been awARDEd for achieving a major technological accomplishment by bringing out an international standard Reynolds Averaged Navier-Stokes Solver using Chapman-Enskog based upwind scheme and Baldwin-Lomax/Splarat-Alamaras Turbulent Models to solve viscous flows past supersonic/hypersonic vehicles and ramjet/scramjet propulsion systems.

Shri KSVM Syam Kumar, Sci D, Defence Electronics Research Laboratory (DLRL), Hyderabad, has been awARDEd for contributing towards development of Signal Processing and Emitter Identification Algorithms for Project Radar Finger Printing System.

Shri Jagat Prakash Singh, Sci C, Research & Development Establishment (Engrs) (R&DE(E)), Pune, has been awARDEd for successfully designing and developing an Indigenous Complex, Multi-disciplinary and state-of-the-art Floatation Bridging System, Amphibious Floating Bridge and Ferry System (AFFS) in a record time of 34 months.

Shri C Kedarnath, Sci D, Naval Science & Technological Laboratory (NSTL), Visakhapatnam, has been awARDEd for significantly contributing towards Introduction of a Compact High Speed and High Power Supersonic Turbine with very stringent specification for weapon application in a short span of time.

Dr P Saravanan, Sci C, Defence Materials and Stores Research & Development Establishment (DMSRDE), Kanpur, has been awARDEd for successfully designing and developing Novel Synthetic Approaches for Obtaining Nano-Particles of Metals, Metal-Alloys and Metal Oxides and their functionalisation, as well as organisation into Self-Assembled Monolayers.

Ms P Radhika, Sci D, Defence Avionics Research Establishment (DARE), Bangalore, has been awARDEd for contributing towards development of Operational Flight Programme Software and Software Tools of TARANG RWR System for MiG 21 BiS Fighter Aircraft and TARANG RWR Variants.

Dr Uma Pathak, Sci C, Defence Research & Development Establishment (DRDE), Gwalior, has been awARDEd for designing and synthesising a series of Novel S-2 (w-aminoalkylamino) ethyl alkyl/aryl thioethers as antidote for Sulphur Mustard Toxicity. (Award was received by the Director, DRDE.)

Shri P Prapakaran, Sci C, Defence Institute of Psychological Research (DIPR), Delhi, has been awARDEd for contributing in development of a Battery of Psychological Tests for Screening of COAS Bodyguards, Integration of Software and Hardware for Pilot Aptitude Selection System, Study of the 16 PF and 5 Factor Personality Profile, and Engineering Knowledge Test for Selection of Technical Officers.

The Best Performance Awards were conferred to the following Technical Officers/STAs/PA:

Shri Daniel Mathew, Tech Officer C, Armament Research & Development Establishment (ARDE), Pune, has been conferred for his contributions for the Development of Pinaka Launcher and other associated sub-systems culminating in successful user evaluation trials and Army's recommendations for induction of the Pinaka Weapon System.

Shri Sucha Singh, Tech Officer C, Terminal Ballistics Research Laboratory (TBRL), Chandigarh, has been conferred for his significant contributions in developing Special Armament Stores for use with Aircrafts and Missiles.

Shri Gajendra Singh Rawat, Tech Officer C, Instruments Research & Development Establishment (IRDE), Dehradun, has been conferred for contributions in the development of LED Illuminated Graticule Assembly for GMS, IGMS of MBT (Arjun) and GMS for ICV (Abhay).

Shri Jayant Ramchandra Peshave, Tech Officer C, High Energy Materials Research Laboratory (HEMRL), Pune, has been conferred for his contributions which led to the improvement in the Quality of Combustible Cartridge Cases (CCCs) for various Tank Gun Ammunitions.

Shri PK Balan, Tech Officer C, Electronics and Radar Development Establishment (LRDE), Bangalore, has been conferred for his contributions in planning, realisation, testing and integration of S-Band Exciter and 7-Channel Receiver System for 3D-Central Acquisition Radar.

Smt Nalinakshamma, Tech Officer C, Aeronautical Development Establishment (ADE), Bangalore, has been conferred for her excellent contributions towards Prototype Manufacture of Air Borne Sub-systems using state-of-the-art technology.

Shri P Nagendra Rao, Personnel Assistant C, Defence Metallurgical Research Laboratory (DMRL), Hyderabad, has been conferred for providing excellent managerial support in Effective Management of various projects at DMRL.

Shri C Surya Kumar, STA 'C', Research Centre Imarat (RCI), Hyderabad, has been conferred for his innovative contributions in identifying problems in Shock Machine and Vibration System, rectifying the same by developing suitable replacements and making system operational.