N  E  W  S   L  E  T  T  E  R


IAT, Pune

The Institute of Armament Technology, (IAT), Pune and Tata Research Development & Design Centre, Pune, jointly organised the Fourth ISHMT-ASME and Fifteenth National Heat and Mass Transfer Conference (HEMTRAC-2000), on 12 January 2000 at IAT, Pune. Lt Gen (Dr) VJ Sundaram PVSM, AVSM, VSM (Retd), Adviser, Aeronautical Development Agency, inaugurated the Conference. Prof GS Mani was the Chairman, Local Organising Committee.

INS Shivaji, Lonavala

The Naval College of Engineering, INS Shivaji, Lonavala, hosted the Annual Meeting of the Propulsion Board of Aerospace Research & Development Board (ARDB), on 11 December 1999. Shri V Sundararajan, Director, GTRE, Bangalore, chaired the meeting.

sspl, Delhi

The Solidstate. Physics Laboratory (sspl), Delhi, in association with the Society for Semiconductor Devices organised the 10 International Workshop on the Physics of Semiconductor Devices (IWPSD-99), during 14-18 December 1999 at the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Delhi. Prof Vikram Kumar, Director, sspl and Chairman IWPSD--99 gave his introductory remarks. Dr K Kasturi Rangan, Secretary, Department of Space, Govemment of India, inaugurated the Workshop.

Dr M Razeghi, Director, Centre for Quantum Devices, North Western University, USA, delivered the keynote address. Prof VS Raju, Director, IIT Delhi, presided over the inaugural function.

The IWPSD-99 was sponsored by three international organisations: The Abdus Salam International Center for Theoretical Physics, IEEE Electron Device Society and International Society of Optical Engineering (SPIE). The Workshop was also cosponsored by DRDO, NPL, IIT, Jamie Millie Islam, DST, DOE, Dept of Space, CSIR, Semiconductor Complex LTD, and IEEE-EDS/Mil’s (India Chapter). Besides, several Indian and foreign industries were associated with the Workshop.

About 100 invited lectures and 32 contributory papers were presented in 35 technical sessions. Besides, three poster sessions were organized where 200 papers were displayed. About 450 scientists and engineers from India and abroad participated in the IWPSD-99. The topics covered were: physics, materials, processes, reliability, design and development of infra-red devices, III-V devices, silicon devices, microwave devices, VLSI technologies, nanostructures, opto-electronics, sensors, photovoltaics, and emerging technologies.

As a prelude to the Workshop, three intensive tutorials on infra-red devices, hetero-junctions field effect transistors and micro-electro mechanical systems technology were conducted at sspl by eminent experts in the field, on 13 December 1999. Dr VK Aatre, Distinguished Scientist & CC R&D (A) (now SA to RM) inaugurated the tutorial