« Back


South Zone Chess Tournament

The Centre for Aeronautical Systems Studies & Analyses (CASSA), Bangalore, organised the South Zone Chess Tournament during 9-11 April 2002. Shri HV Srinivasa Rao, Director, CASSA inaugurated the tournament. Shri Raja Ravishekhar, International Chess Master attended the inaugural function as a Special Guest. Fifty-two players from eight DRDO labs/estts participated in the event. Shri Utarid, the Tournament Director from Karnataka State Chess Association (KSCA) conducted the Tournament. In Men's team event, CVRDE, Avadi, emerged as the winner while in the Women's team events, ADE, Bangalore, was the winner. Shri TV Jose, GTRE, and Ms S Geethanjali, ADE both at Bangalore were the winners of the men and the women's open singles event, respectively. Dr CGS Sarma, Director, DEBEL, was the Chief Guest for the valedictory function.

North Zone Badminton Tournament

The Defence Reserach and Development Establishment, (DRDE), Gwalior, organised the DRDO North Zone Badminton Tournament during 9-11 April 2002. Nine DRDO labs/estts participated in the tournament which was inaugurated by Dr R Vijayaraghavan, Sci F. The team from IRDE, Dehradun, won the championship. Shri K Sekhar , Director, DRDE, gave away the prizes to the winners of the various categories.

DRDE also hosted the Inter-Zonal DRDO Badminton Tournament during 11-13 April 2002. The team from Central Zone won the championship.

North Zone Kabaddi Tournament

The Instruments Research & Development Establishment (IRDE), Dehradun, won the North Zone Kabaddi Tournament. Seven participating teams of the tournament held during 6-8 March 2002 were: IRDE, Dehradun; R&D HQrs, LASTEC, sspl and INMAS, all at Delhi; TBRL, Chandigarh; and DRDE, Gwalior. Shri JAR Krishna Moorty, Director, IRDE, presented the medals and trophies to the winning teams.

DRDO Central Zone Kabaddi Tournament

The Proof & Experimental Establishment (PXE), Balasore, hosted DRDO Central Zone Kabaddi Tournament at Chandipur during 12-14 February 2002. Shri SC Narang, Director, ITR, inaugurated the tournament. The teams from DLRL, DMRL, DRDL, and RCI, all at Hyderabad; ITR, Chandipur; NSTL, Visakhapatnam; and PXE, Balasore participated in the tournament. PXE won the championship by defeating DLRL, Hyderabad in the finals. Brig RK Sahu, ITR, gave prizes to the winning teams.

DRDO Zonal & Intra-Zonal Volley Ball Tournaments

The Solid State Physics Laboratory (sspl), Delhi, organised the DRDO Zonal & Intra-Zonal Volley Ball Tournaments during 12-15 February 2002. Dr Vikram Kumar, Director, sspl & Chairman North Zone Sports Council inaugurated the tournaments. Participating teams from sspl, DCDA (R&D) at Delhi; DEAL & IRDE at Dehradun; TBRL, Chandigarh; and DMSRDE, Kanpur participated in the tournament. TBRL team was placed first while sspl team was adjudged, second. Teams from Central, North, South & West Zones participated in the Intra-Zonal Tournaments. Central Zone team was placed first while South Zone was adjuged the second. Shri BR Grover, President, DRDO Sports Board distributed prizes to the winners. All India DRDO Volley Ball team was also selected during this tournament.

All India DRDO Volley Ball team participated in the 18th Department Nationals Volley Ball Tournament organised by Volley Ball Federation of India (VFI) at Tuticorin, Tamil Nadu, during 4-10 March 2002. The team was led by Shri Krishnapal, sspl, Secretary, North Zone Sports Council. The team consisted of seven players from Central Zone, three each from South Zone and North Zone.

DRDO Skiing Programme

Shri S Rajagopal, STA, 'B' and Ms Sahana STA, 'A' Electronics & Radar Development Establishment (LRDE), Bangalore, participated in DRDO Skiing Programme conducted by SASE, Manali from 18 February to 1 March 2002. They also participated in DRDO Ski Championship held at SASE, Manali (Solang), on 7 March 2002. Ms Sanana secured third position on Down Hill.