Director, LRDE

Shri KU Limaye, Scientist H, has been appointed Director, Electronics & Radar Development Establishment (LRDE), Bangalore,w.e.f. 1 May 2003.

Shri Limaye taking over the charge from Dr Cleetus

 Shri Limaye, an Engineering graduate from Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, obtained MTech in Radar System Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, in 1976. He joined LRDE in 1968 and was Associate Director, LRDE during 1995-1999. He was appointed Director , Microwave Tube Research and Development Centre (MTRDC), Bangalore in 1999 and assumed additional charge of Director , Centre for Airborne Systems (CABS), Bangalore from April 2002 .

His work has led to significant achievements in self-reliance in advanced electronic systems for defence. His notable contributions include Rajendra Multifunction Radar for Akash, Airborne Surveillance Platform, Multimode Radar for LCA and High Power TWTs for Radars and EW Systems. He is the recipient of DRDO Scientist of the Year Award, IETE-IRSI Award, and JC Bose Memorial Award. He is a Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering and IETE; and Member IEEE, and Aeronautical Society of India.

Director, MTRDC

Dr Lalit Kumar has been appointed Director, Microwave Tube Research & Development Centre (MTRDC), Bangalore, w.e.f. 1 May 2003. He obtained his MSc (Physics) from Meerut University in 1973 and PhD (Physics) from Birla Institute of Technology & Science, Pilani in 1980. He joined MTRDC in 1997 as Additional Director . Earlier, during 1978-97, he was scientist at Central Electronics Engineering Research Institute, Pilani. He was the DAAD Research Fellow in Germany during 1983-85 and worked at University of Tuebingen; and Philips, Hamburg. He was awARDEd honorary visiting research fellowship at Lancaster University, UK, during 1990-91 and 1994. He contributed in development of Coaxial Magnetron, Helix and Coupled-cavity-traveling Wave Tubes, Gyrotron, and computer-aided design codes for Electron Guns, Depressed Collectors and Slow Wave Structures. His current interests include Helix and Coupled-cavity TWT's, Microwave Power Modules and Ultra-high Power Microwave Devices.
He is recipient of JC Bose Memorial Award of JETE for Best Paper-1993 , Best Project Award CEERI-1993; and IETE-IRSI(83)-200l Award. He is a fellow of IETE and a member of Indian Physics Association, Indian Vacuum Society Indo-French Technical Association and Magnetics Society of India.