Dr. D Hanumanna

Dr D Hanumanna, Director, Combat Vehicles Research & Development Establishment (CVRDE), Avadi, has been promoted to the rank of Sci H (Outstanding Scientist) w.e.f. 1 July 2003. Dr Hanumanna, obtained his BE from Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupathi and MTech from  REC, Warangal. He obtained his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from IIT, Madras.

Dr Hanumanna joined DRDO in 1980 as Senior Scientific Officer at CVRDE. He was associated with design and development of Electro-Hydraulic Gun Control System and played a key role in the integration of various sub-systems of weapon and automotive systems of Main Battle Tank-Arjun. He made remarkable contributions in the area of design improvements of various systems in automotive weapon systems and gun control system and headed a team of scientists, which culminated in the successful induction of MBT Arjun into Service leading to its productionisation. With his rich professional experience for more than three decades in DROO, he worked as Programme Director of MBT and subsequently elevated to Director, CVRDE on 29 January 2001.

Dr Hanumanna received the AGNI Award for Self-Reliance-1998 as a member of MBT Arjun programme. He has many papers to his credit. He is a member of Society of Automotive Engineers, (USA); Fellow, Institution of Engineers (India) and the Fluid Power Society of India; and served as Vice Chairman of FPSI (Madras Chapter) for half a decade. He is an associate Member of National Institute of Advanced Studies, Bangalore, and also Life Member of the Association of Mechanics and Machines.

Dr. V Chandrasekharan

Dr V Chandrasekharan, Defence Metallurgical Research Laboratory (DMRL), Hyderabad, has been promoted to the rank of Sci G w.e.f 1 July 2003. He obtained MSc in 1972 and PhD in 1978, both from Annamalai University. He joined DMRL in 1976 as JSO and since then he has been working in the field of magnetics, particularly permanent magnet materials of interest to Defence Systems.

His major contribution has been towards the development of indigenous process technology for high energy SmCo5 magnets (17-18 MGOe) and took the technology up to critical engineering application level. At present, he is heading the Magnetic Materials Group at DMRL.

He is recipient of MRSI Medal-1990, Vasvik Industrial Research Award-1991 and Metallurgist of the Year Award-1998. Apart from life membership in many professional scientific bodies, he is General Secretary of the Magnetics Society of India.



Dr. J. Narayana

Dr J Narayana Das, Sci G, has been appointed Director, Naval Materials Research Laboratory (NMRL), Ambernath, w.e.f. 1 November 2003. He obtained his PhD from IIT, Madras and joined DRDO in 1971 at DRDL, Hyderabad and then NPOL, Cochin in 1981. He has initiated R&D activities on underwater engineering materials for sonar transducer technology at NPOL, Cochin.

He worked in the field of liquid rocket propulsion, design, installation and commissioning of rocket engine test facilities and rocket propellant production plant and smart materials, specifically magneto-rheological fluids. He is recipient of the DRDO Scientist of the Year Award-1998.


Dr. Manas K Mandal

Dr Manas K Mandal, has been appointed Director, Defence Institute of Psychological Research (DIPR), Delhi, w.e.f. 5 January 2004. Born on 1 November 1956, Dr Mandal has obtained his Postgraduation and Doctorate from Calcutta University in 1979 and 1984, respectively. He has completed his post-doctoral research programme at Delaware University (Fulbright Fellow), USA in 1986-87 and at Waterloo University (Shastri & NSERC Fellow), Canada, in 1993-94.

Dr Mandal was a Professor of Psychology at the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, IIT, Kharagpur. He was also a visiting professor at Kyushu University, Japan in1997. During 2003 he was a Fulbright Visiting Lecturer, Harvard University, USA. He has been awARDEd various research fellowships and scientific awards at national and international levels.

He has to his credit, two published books (two in press), 11 chapters for various books, and 81 research papers published in National and International Journals.

Dr. P. C. Deb

Dr P C Deb, Outstanding Scientist and Director, NMRL, Ambernath, retired from service w.e.f. 31 October 2003. He joined NMRL in 1976 and started polymer research activity at NMRL. He is recipient of Humbolt Fellowship and worked as Post Doctoral Fellow in Germany. He received DRDO Scientist of the Year Award twice during his career.


 | HOME |