Dr Y Nayudamma Memorial Award

Dr VK AatreDr VK Aatre, Scientific Adviser to Raksha Mantri and Secretary, Department of Defence R&D has been conferred with the prestigious Dr Y Nayudamma Memorial Award 2000 for his outstanding contributions in the field of defence technology. The function was held at Tenali, Andhra Pradesh, the hometown of Dr Y Nayudamma on 6 November 2001 under the auspices of Dr Y Nayudamma Memorial Trust. On this occasion Dr Aatre delivered the 11th Dr Nayudamma Memorial Lecture entitled, Science, Technology and Battlefield. The Union Minister for Rural Development, Shri M Venkaiah Naidu presented the citation and award to Dr Aatre.



INSA Young Scientist Award

Dr Vijay Vinayak Patel receiving the awardDr Vijay Vinayak Patel, Sci D, Centre for Artificial Intelligence & Robotics (CAIR), Bangalore, has been awARDEd INSA Young Scientist Award 2000 for his significant contributions in the field of robust control theory and its application to Light Combat Aircraft. He has also been selected as Young Associate of Indian Academy of Sciences for the period from June 2000 to December 2004 in recognition of his talent and originality in research in instrumentation and control systems.



Binani Gold Medal

Ms AG Paradkar, Sci D; Dr AK Gogia, Sci F; and Shri AV Rao, Defence Metallurgical Research Laboratory (DMRL), Hyderabad, have been selected for the Binani Gold Medal. The Medal was presented to Ms AG Paradkar at the inaugural function of the 55th Annual Technical Meeting and 39th National Metallurgists Day Celebrations of the Indian Institute of Metals held on 18th November 2001 at Bhubaneshwar for a technical paper entitled, Effects of Micro Alloying in a Near-Alpha Titanium Alloy, published in the Transactions