Badge of Honour

Sanjay PalShri Sanjay Pal, Sci D, Institute for System Studies & Analyses (ISSA), Delhi, has been awARDEd a Silver Badge by Dr CP Thakur, Union Minister for Health and Family Welfare and Chairman, Indian Red Cross Society (IRCS), for donating blood more than 25 times. This medal was awARDEd to him at the All India Voluntary Blood Donation Day organised by the Indian Red Cross Society, Delhi, on l October 2000. Shri Sanjay Pal has been donating blood for the last 12 years and has made 45 donations till date (39 for IRCS and 9 elsewhere). One blood donation consists of 300 ml of blood. He has been earlier rewARDEd by WHO and Lions Club and has also received a Commendation Certificate from IRCS for outstanding contribution during Kargil conflict.

Shram Devi Award

P RajaniSmt P Rajani, STA, Defence Research & Development Laboratory (DRDL), Hyderabad, has been conferred with Shram Devi Award 2000 for her significant contribution towards the development and fabrication of state-of-the-art technology meeting the mission requirements of the missile programmes.



Best Paper/Essay Award

Dr (Smt) Madhu Bala, Sci D,- Institute of Nuclear Medicine & Allied Sciences (INMAS), Delhi, was awARDEd Mrs Thangam Vasudevan Award 2000 for the best paper in the field of Biomedical Sciences by Indian Association of Biomedical Scientists (IABMS), for her paper titled Assessment of Chromosomal DNA Damage by Bracketed Electric Field: A New Approach. The title of Fellow of Association of Biomedical Scientists (FABMS) was also conferred on Dr Madhu Bala for her significant contributions in the field of biomedical sciences, at the convocation arranged during XXI Annual Conference of IABMS 2000, at Rajah Muthiah Medical College, Annamalai Nagar, Chidambaram, on 13 October 2000.

Shri PE Yadav, TA 'A' Armament Research & Development Establishment (ARDE), Pune, was awARDEd when his essay titled Corrosion and its Prevention was adjudged the Best Entry in the All India Essay Competition organised by the Roorkee Technicians Chapter of the Institution of Engineers (India) .