Dr D Hanumanna, Sci H, Outstanding Scientist and Director, Combat Vehicles Research and Development Establishment (CVRDE), Avadi, retired from service on superannuation w.e.f. 31 August 2005.








Shri S SunDAREsh has been appointed Director, CVRDE w.e f. 1 September 2005. He graduated in Electrical Engineering in 1971 from Madras University and obtained his Post graduation in Control System in 1973 from the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras. He joined DRDO in 1974 at Naval Science and Technological Laboratory (NSTL), Visakapatnam and carried out the design and development of control and guidance systems for underwater weapons and course control system of an anti-ship torpedo which was productionised under his guidance.

He joined CVRDE, Avadi in 1986, where he led the development of integrated fire control system for the Main Battle Tank Arjun. He guided his team in the successful development of indigenous electro-hydraulic gun control system, gunnery training simulator and battle management system. He also guided in qualifying the aircraft mounted accessory gear box and hydraulic filters for the light combat aircraft, Tejas. He is recipient of DRDO Technology Award-1996 and is Fellow of IETE, Senior member of IEEE, member of SAE and FPSI.
Shri G Elangovan, Sci G, has been appointed Director, Aeronautical Development Establishment (ADE), Bangalore, w.e.f. 1 November 2005. He obtained his BE (Hons) from Thiagarajar College of Engineering, Madurai, and MSc (Engineering) in 1974. He joined ADE, Bangalore in 1975 and has successfully executed a number of system related projects, viz., development of CCTV terrain model visual system, setting up of research simulation facility, training simulators for Ajeet and Kiran and setting up of air-to-air combat simulator facility. He was also instrumental in developing a PC-based flight simulator and part task trainers which were demonstrated at Aero India-2003. He was Project Director for the development of Computerised Pilot Selection System, which was successfully completed and installed at the Air Force Selection Board, for data collection during January- 2005.

He is a Fellow of IETE and recipient of 4th JETE BV Baliga Memorial Award- 2001, and DRDO Path Breaking Research/Outstanding Technology Development Award- 2002.