programme on the development of Synthetic Aviation Lubricants for the first time in India.


Dr Raghavan has represented at the Syndicate and Academic Councils of Anna University, BITS (Pilani) and the School of Chemistry of Hyderabad University. He served as the Honorary Professor of Anna University and IIT, Kharagpur; and was member of the Research Councils of GAIL, IOC (R&D), NCL (Pune), CLRI (Chennai), RRL (Bhubaneswar), CFRI (Dhanbad), and CPPRI (Saharanpur). He was the member of a High Level Committee of Govt of Andhra Pradesh on Natural Gas Utilization and Creation of Pharmaceutical Research and Development Fund. Currently, he is the President, AP Akademy of Sciences and Member, American Institute of Chemical Engineers, Catalysis Society of India and a Distinguished Fellow of UGC. He has published more than 100 papers, filed 45 patents and edited three books.

Dr Raghavan is the recipient of the Hindustan Lever Award; NRDC Invention Promotion Award; Pilot Officer D V Rang a Reddy Gold Medal; J N Sinha Roy Memorial; Chem Tech Foundation; and A P Akademy of Sciences Awards.



Several DRDO Scientists have been promoted from Sci F to Sci G w. e.f. 1 July 2004. Bio-data of some of the promotees highlighting their contributions in DRDO have been reported in this issue while profiles of other promotees would be reported in the subsequent issues of DRDO Newsletter.

DMRL, Hyderabad

Dr Amol A Gokhale obtained MS and PhD in Metallurgical Engineering from the University of


Dr KV Raghavan has been appointed Chairman, Recruitment & Assessment Centre (RAC), Delhi, w.e.f. 19 May 2004. He obtained his BTech from Osmania University in

1964 and MS and PhD from Indian Institute of Technology, Madras. He joined CSIR in 1964 and headed three national laboratories.

The broad areas of his specialization are: chemical process development and design, reaction engineering, simulation and modeling and chemical hazard analysis . His basic research contributions have been on the simulation of complex reaction in fixed bed reactors, hydrodynamics of multiphase reaction system, envirocatalysis for clean processing, zeolite catalysis for macromolecules, thermochemistry and kinetics of charge transfer polymerisation and modeling of chemical accidents.

Dr Raghavan is currently the Member of Atomic Energy Regulatory and AICTE Planning Boards. He is on the Board of Directors of Heavy Water Board (Govt of India), Mumbai; Chemfab Alkalies Ltd (Chennai); Godavari Sugar Mills (Mumbai); and Suven Life Sciences (Hyderabad). He was a Member of Scientific Advisory Committees of Science and Technology, Petroleum and Health Ministries of Govt of India. At present, he is Member of High Level Task Force on Drugs/Pharmaceuticals of Govt of Andhra Pradesh; Coordinator for the establishment of India's first Biotechnology Incubator, a joint initiative of DBT, CSIR and Govt of Andhra Pradesh at Hyderabad and multi-institutional

August 2004 DRDO Newsletter