N  E  W  S   L  E  T  T  E  R


Vishishtha Sewa Medal

Maj Gen SS Sharma, KC, Director, Snow & Avalanche Study Establishment (SASE), Maj Gen SS Sharma, KC, receiving the Vishishtha Sewa Medal from the Chief of Army StaffManali, was conferred with the Vishistha Sewa Medal by Gen VP Mallik, PVSM, AVSM, ADC and Chief of the Army Staff, on 15 January 2000, on the occasion of the Indian Army Day, in an investiture ceremony held at New Delhi. The Medal has been given to him for his distinguished services in the snow and avalanche field.

Best Paper Award

Dr RB Sharma, Sci D, Naval College Of  Engineering, INS Shivaji, Lonavla, has received the Best Paper Award for his paper titled Scanning Tunneling Microscopy Studies on Highly-Oriented Pyrolytic Graphite using Nickel Deposited Tungsten Tips at the 87th Indian Science Congress, held during 3-7January 2000.

Shri DVB Swamy, Sci F, Naval College of Engineering, INS Shivaji, Lonavla, has received the Best Paper Award for his co-authored paper titled Some Aspects of r Conversion of Aerogas Turbine to Marine Application at the Sixteenth National Conference of IC Engines and Combustion organised by the Combustion Institute of India at Jadavpur University, Calcutta, during 20-22 January 2000.

Dr K Muraleedhran and S/Shri DV Sridhara Rao, DMRL; DK Dey, BARC; SK Haldar and G Bhagavnnarayan, NPL; P Banerji, D Pal and DN Bose, ATC, IIT, Kharagpur; have received Best Paper Award for their paper titled Transmission Electron Microscopy and X-Ray Diffraction Studies of Quantum Wells published in the Bulletin of Materials Sciences (1999).