Raksha Mantri addressing

DRDO Directors' Conference was organised at Metcalfe House, Delhi, during 13-15 February 2003. Hon'ble Raksha Mantri, Shri George Fernandes was the ChiefGuest. Several Secretaries from Ministry of Defence, Vice Chiefs of the three Services, Senior Officials from Service HQrs, Chief Controllers, Laboratory Directors, Corporate and Technical Directors, and the senior officials graced the occasion.

Director's Conference is a major annual event in DRDO and reviews the progress made on several projects in la.ston"e year and sets agenda for activities, .to be pursued in the succeeding year : The Conference was spread over seven sessions viz. Technical. Advance Materials and Technology , Autonomous Vehicles, Terminal Guidance, Techno- managerial, and Management Session. The highlight of the conference was a talk by Dr VS Arunachalam on 14 February 2003.

This was also an occasion to confer DRDO Awards and honours upon Scientists and Officers who have rendered distinguished and meritorious service in last one year . These awards have been instituted with a view to accelerate the pace of development of critical technologies, transfer of technology from laboratory to industry , and production of the state-of-the-art defence systems. Dr VK Aatre, Scientific Adviser to Raksha Mantri and Secretary , Defence Research & Development gave away Young Scientist Awards and Best Performance Awards on 13 February 2003 .

Young Scientist Award carries a Certificate and a Cash Prize of Rs 50,000. The award was conferred on :

Shri Prateek Kishore, Sci D, Terminal Ballistics Research Laboratory (TBRL) , Chandigarh, has been awARDEd in recognition of his significant contributions in development and realisation of Special Armament Weapon Systems for Agni Missile and other Vectors.

Shri Y Dilip, Sci D, Aeronautical Development Establishment (ADE), Bangalore, has been awARDEd for contributing towards the design and development of a highly complex Quadruplex Digital Flight Control Computer (DFCC) used successfully in the flights ofLCA (TD 1 and TD2) aircrafts.

Ms Padmavathi, Sci D, Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA), Bangalore, has been awARDEd for her outstanding contributions in the development of Mission Computer Software for the Light Combat Aircraft.

Shri Suman Roy Choudhury, Sci D, Naval Materials Research Laboratory (NMRL) , Ambernath, has been awARDEd for his mpritnrious contributions in design and

development of Methanol Fuel Reformers/Processor for Fuel Cells using his expert and in-depth knowledge in fluid dynamics and chemical engineering.

Shri K Ravi Sankar, Sci D, Centre for Artificial Intelligence and Robotics (CAIR), Bangalore, has been awARDEd for his outstanding contributions in the development of series of Speech Secrecy Equipment called SECTEL, Shruti and Vishwas.

Dr VA Sajeev Kumar, Sci C, Defence Food Research Laboratory (DFRL), Mysore, has been awARDEd for his outstanding contributions towards the design and development of a user friendly self-contained, self-heating system for heating Ready-to-eat Retort Pouch Processed Food Products.

Shri J Rajesh Kumar, Sci D, Combat Vehicles Research & Development Establishment (CVRDE), Chennai, has been awARDEd for his outstanding contributions in the design and development of Main Battle Tank (MBT) Arjun and combat improved Ajeya.

Shri D Radha Krishna, Sci D, Vehicles Research & Development Establishment (VRDE), Ahmednagar, has been awARDEd for his significant contributions in the design and development of series of Two-stroke Engines with Crankshaft Technology leading to Successful Flight Trials of Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV).

Best Performance Award carries a Certificate and a Cash Prize of Rs 25,000. The award was conferred on :

Shri A Satyanarayana, Senior Accounts Officer, System Planning & Implementation Centre (SPIC), New Delhi, has been awARDEd for his steadfast stand and inexhaustible determination to render total administrative and financial management support including procurement of stores for HQrs, SPIC, and its various cells.

Shri A Ratna Das, Chief Administrative Officer, Defence Electronics Research Laboratory (DLRL), Hyderabad, has been awARDEd for his exceptional sense of dedication and involvement in various DRDO projects. His innovative and streamlined procedure enabled the laboratory to complete important EW projects successfully and in a short period.

Shri MG Varughese, Technical Assistant B, Gas Turbine Research Establishment (GTRE), Bangalore, has been awARDEd for' his outstanding contributions in fabricating several critical, complex and intricate components, demanding high precision, for KaveriAero and Marine Gas Turbine Engines,

Shri KVS Nagendra Babu, Personal Assistant C, Research Center Imarat (RCI), Hyderabad (Programme 'AD'), has been awARDEd for his exemplary and outstanding support by providing efficient management support during the development, production and induction of Prithvi missile. He has provided excellent support to Project Director, Prithvi & Dhanush, and Programme Director 'AD'

Shri M Somasundaran, Technical Officer B, Naval Physical & Oceanographic Laboratory (NPOL), Kochi, has been awARDEd for his outstanding contribution to the successful field evaluation of the Transducer Arrays at Underwater Acoustic Research Facility.

Shri Suresh Sihari Pandey, TO C, Defence Materials & Stores Research and Development Establishment (DMSRDE), Kanpur, has been awARDEd for his innovative contributions in the field of Textile Chemistry .He has evolved a printing process for polyamide fabric and its subsequent polyurethane coating which has resulted into development of a light weight, waterproof, high strength fabric having very high flexing resistance and abrasion.

Shri Srinivasa Charyulu C, TO B, Microwave Tube Research & Development Centre (MTRDC), Bangalore, has been awARDEd for facilitating successful development and testing of X-Band TWT developed for Multimode Radar of LCA. His innovative skill and resourcefulness were of great help in developing the multiple brazing processes using a single alloy for slow wave structure and vacuum assembly.

Shri Anant Dhondiram Bhosale, Senior Technical Assistant C, Research & Development Establishmeht (Engrs), [R&DE (Engrs)], Pune, has been awARDEd for his unique involvement in all stages from concept to development of prototype for Hydro Pneumatic Launcher .